Court Information

The United States District Court for the Eastern District of Louisiana encompasses the following 13 parishes: Assumption, Jefferson, Lafourche, Orleans, Plaquemines, St. Bernard, St. Charles, St. James, St. John the Baptist, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, Terrebonne, and Washington.

The Eastern District of Louisiana is authorized 12 active district judges and 6 magistrate judges. It currently has 12 active district judges, 4 senior district judges and 5 magistrate judges.

The District operates from one location; the Hale Boggs Federal Building and Courthouse which is located at 500 Poydras Street in New Orleans, Louisiana.   A valid photo ID is required to enter the building.

Please note that in addition to the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure and the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure, the court's Local Rules govern the conduct of all actions filed in this federal court.

Additional court information is available via the links to the left. News and noteworthy information may be found under News & Announcements on the main page.